For current information about ELL programs and services, please contact:

Sandra-Lynn Shortall: Director of Instruction – Inclusive Education
Maria Yioldassis: District ELL Coordinator
(604) 981-1095

BC Ministry of Education – Special Programs: ELL

Click on the image below to view the ELL brochure

BC Ministry of Education English Language Learning (ELL) Standards (2017)

The English Language Learning (ELL) Standards provide a common language for describing language proficiency for K-12 English language learners.

The ELL Standards are organized into matrices that are separated into language skills:

• Reading (and viewing)

• Writing (and representing)

• Oral Language (listening and speaking)

In assessing language proficiency, schools describe the student’s performance in relation to a continuum of descriptors.

  • Beginning
  • Developing
  • Expanding
  • Consolidating
  • Bridging

The ELL Standards have matrices that reflect language proficiency characteristics and expectations at certain grade levels:

  • Kindergarten
  • Primary (Grade 1 to Grade 3)
  • Intermediate (Grade 4 to Grade 7)
  • Secondary (Grade 8 to Grade 12)

Understanding your Child’s Assessment

Translate »